Treaty of Paris, The

The Treaty of Paris (1898) officially ended the period of Spanish colonization in the Philippines and granted possession of Cuba, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the Philippines to the United States. It also required that the United States pay $20 million USD in recompense to the Spanish government. It signaled the end of global Spanish colonization, and the rise of American imperialism in the Pacific theater as well as the role of the United States as world power.